Regrets, I’ve had a few

image

With apologies to Frank Sinatra, I thought I might do a slightly thinky blog today. (‘Thinky’ is not a word. I am well aware of this. I think the ‘proper’ word is ‘thoughtful’. But that doesn’t really capture the essence of what I’m trying to say. Plus I like making up words. Been doing it since I was a kid!)

There have been many things said about regrets. Many very profound quotes by very important people.

Listening to the lyrics of ‘My Way’, I can relate to a LOT of it. Including that immortal line, ‘Regrets, I’ve had a few, but then again, too few to mention’.

What is regret? I could Google ‘regret definition’ and rehash it here, but where would the fun be in that? No, to me, regret is wishing you hadn’t done something you did, or wishing you HAD done something you didn’t.

I had a thought. (Yes, it does happen from time to time.) And like many thoughts that pop into my head, this one was about running.

I have now been running for nearly 3 1/2 years. I started at 35, quite late by many people’s standards. The thought that occurred to me was, what if I had started athletics as a kid? (‘What if’ is possibly a synonym for regret)

I now find myself in a position where I am improving, but I never seem to get any better from a results point of view. By that I mean my times may be getting overall faster, but my placings aren’t – there is always someone (and in most cases many someones) who is faster.

I am a so-called ‘veteran athlete’ – a term which I find quite funny – I don’t really consider myself an ‘athlete’ and I am certainly no veteran – in fact I was listed as a ‘Veteran Woman’ in my very first race, one week after I started running. I could hardly have been further from a veteran! But it was purely based on age – apparently from the age of 35 we are considered veterans.

Loving running and all the places it’s taken me, and most of the people it has brought into my life, made me kind of wish I’d ‘discovered’ it sooner.

But then again, I see the people who have been running all their lives. Many of them are plagued by injuries now. Whereas I am still relatively ‘fresh’ – I have been lucky enough (touch wood) not to have been affected by any significant injuries. It’s possible that my laziness in my earlier life has paid off!

Do you know what else I have regretted in the past? Not taking full advantage of the wonderful time of year that is Fringe in Adelaide (aka Mad March, although it is half in February). I’ve talked about it before in a recent blog post – https://randomthoughtsandracereports.wordpress.com/2016/03/04/liberated/

Well I’m pleased to say this year I won’t be having that particular regret! I saw 28 shows this Fringe. At the time of writing I’m still considering squeezing in one more. I am seriously wondering what I will do with myself once it’s over!

You can regret time you’ve wasted on things/people that just weren’t worth it – but it wasn’t totally wasted if you managed to learn something from the experience.

I’ll tell you one thing I’ve never regretted – going for a run! There have been times when I’ve been out on a Saturday night and not got to bed until late, and maybe only had 4-5 hours sleep before having to get up for my Sunday run. I have considered sleeping in, and either not running at all (yeah, right!) or running on my own later in the day. Most, if not all of the time, though, I make myself get up and go. And you know what? I have never regretted it. Sure, they haven’t always been the greatest runs, but I’ve always been glad to have sacrificed that extra few hours sleep. And the post-run coffee has always been appreciated! (In the words of Bon Jovi, I’ll sleep when I’m dead!)

Leave a Reply

