I like balls!

Before I go any further and you get COMPLETELY the wrong idea of what this post is about, this is a recipe post!

Energy balls are a fantastic easy on-the-go snack. They can be expensive to buy, but why buy when they are so easy to make? The beauty of making your own is that you can tweak the recipe to suit your taste, or if you happen to be missing one ingredient, you can often substitute another for equally good (and sometimes even better) results.

I have an old favourite recipe which I might tell you about in a future post, which is a raw cacao ball. I tweaked it by soaking the dates in fresh espresso coffee instead of hot water, to make mocha balls.

Anyway, today I am going to share my new take on an old favourite.

Here is a link to the original recipe – I’ve made these balls so many times that I can now make them without even consulting the recipe for the ingredients or quantities.

I am a little obsessed with coriander (some of you may know it as cilantro). I get that from my Mum, who famously once said “If I could dry it and smoke it, I would.” Well, I’m sure she COULD, but I’m not sure it would have the desired effect…

I am determined to come up with a recipe that incorporates coriander into a dessert. I know coriander is probably THE most polarising herb there is, so if you’re a hater, just leave it out. (Also, we can’t be friends.)


So, what I’ve done is swap out lemon for lime, and vanilla essence for chopped fresh coriander. Simples!

These balls are vegan, can be gluten-free if required, contain no refined sugar (the dates are the only sweetener) and are EASY AS to make!

LIME AND CORIANDER BALLS

(makes approximately 16 balls)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup rolled oats (use gluten-free if needed)
  • 1 cup raw cashews 
  • 10 Medjool dates, pitted
  • 2 teaspoons lime juice
  • 2 teaspoons lime zest (one lime gave me enough juice and zest)
  • 1 tablespoon melted coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped coriander/cilantro (optional if you’re a weirdo who doesn’t like it)
  • Unsweetened shredded coconut (to roll the balls in)

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Soak the dates in hot water for about 10 minutes, and drain.
  • Place the oats and cashews in a food processor and process until they become a powder.

  • Add dates, zest, juice, oil and coriander, and process until they form a dough-like paste (mixture will clump into a big ball – this will take less than a minute)


  • Divide the mixture into balls – the number of balls will depend on how big you like them. I usually make 16 because it’s easy to make them roughly the same size – I divide the mixture in half, then half again, then again, then again.

  • Roll the balls in coconut and place in fridge to get firm. Because you want your balls to be firm.
  • Don’t eat them all at once (I challenge you!)
One thought on “I like balls!

  1. Pingback: Having a ball! – randomthoughts

Leave a Reply

