No FOMO!

Because there are no photos to illustrate this week’s post, I have decided to ‘pretty’ it up with some (mostly nonsensical and completely irrelevant) words of ‘wisdom’ from my favourite new time-waster (and LOL generator) – inspirobot.me! (You’re welcome, by the way!)

19650159_662621423930065_1495688693_o

You know FOMO, right? Fear Of Missing Out.

Social media has a lot to answer for here. In the past you wouldn’t necessarily know what you were missing out on. But now you can’t even open Facebook or Instagram without seeing a post about somewhere you wish you were, and/or a race you wish you were running!

19686521_662620243930183_1018248232_o

This time last year, and the year before that, AND the year before that, I was up on the Gold Coast for marathon weekend. Not this year though. I know a lot of people who were there, and had no end of posts popping up on my news feed. The fact that the weather here in Adelaide this weekend has been spectacular (if a little chilly in the mornings) makes it a bit easier to see the pics of people up there in the sunshine!

19686630_662619533930254_1061596463_o

And you know what? Even if it had been raining all weekend, I think I’d still be OK with not being there! Been there, done that. Having said that, if I ever want to give Boston another crack, that’s where I’ll be going for my BQ!

Then there’s Yurrebilla. The Yurrebilla 56km ultra is the biggest ultra in SA in terms of participation, and one of my all time favourite events. I volunteered in 2014 and then ran it in 2015 and 2016.

19650463_662620483930159_1026362961_o

This weekend was the first of the 3 traditional training runs for Yurrebilla. Essentially, the course is split into 3 sections, so if you do all 3 runs you’ve seen the whole course. Unless, of course, a freak storm hits Adelaide a week and a half out from the event, rendering parts of the trail inaccessible and forcing a last-minute re-route. As if that would ever happen!

Given the ‘loopy ultra’ (as I like to call it) next weekend, I thought a little ‘time on legs’ was called for, so I had planned to run ‘back and out’ (starting at the finish, running back to the start to meet the main group and running with them back to the finish – about 36km all up). That was, until I realised that I was going out on Saturday night and probably wouldn’t be too keen on starting a run at 5:45, or even 8:00, for the standard distance, so I pulled the pin on that idea.

19686492_662620820596792_1268358542_o

Then I realised I would also miss the second run as I will be in Sydney. So, given that I find it hard to get motivated to do these kinds of runs on my own, that would leave just the final stage. Last year I was in the same boat and ended up doing stages 2 and 3 together (about 40km – a LONG day out!). I did an OK time in the event but I had been hoping for sub 7 hours (after having run 7:07 in 2015) – the extra hills in the re-route probably didn’t help my cause there!

So I came to the conclusion that I could either run it (with low expectations and minimal training), or I could just take this year off. And I opted for the latter – I’ll go out and volunteer this year, and get my trail legs primed for 2018!

19688342_662621537263387_1457803261_o

On Sunday morning, having done my long loopy run on Saturday, and waking up at a civilised time with nothing I had to get done (pure luxury!) I decided to head up to the finish of the training run to chat with fellow runners (spending most of my time in close proximity to the very welcome portable heater!). As I drove up the old Mount Barker Road I passed a number of runners (and some walkers) approaching the end of their run. And some who were on their way back down to the start at Belair! No FOMO! I got to the finish line ‘aid station’, kindly provided by super volunteers Mal and Merrilyn every year, and saw all the runners with their smiling faces and still no FOMO! It was a beautiful day for a run, too – but I made the most of it by getting out for a long walk to stretch the old legs after Saturday’s 3 hour training run.

So after this weekend I am confident I’ve made the right decision about Yurrebilla. And now I’ve said it here, it’s official (and the volunteer coordinator has undoubtedly already got me slotted into a role!)

19650508_662620223930185_2087918980_o

I’m pretty sure I won’t be experiencing any FOMO next Sunday morning either, wishing I’d done the 24 hour event instead of the shorter option. I ran intermittently with 24 hour entrant Tracey on Saturday, and I was complaining about having to get up at 4am for a 6am start, while she would get a nice sleep-in for the very civilised 10am start for the 24 hour. I then fast-forwarded to 4am Sunday, when I would be fast asleep in bed (hopefully) and she would still be going! So 4am on Saturday suddenly didn’t seem so bad!

19647917_662621700596704_522061147_o

Do you have any FOMO stories?

Leave a Reply

